Sixteenth Annual Bison Baseball Alumni Game Held Saturday, Sept. 18th

After a one year delay due to the pandemic, the 16th annual alumni game was held at the Bucky Strunk Memorial Field in Clearfield. Registration for the event began at 10:30 AM as all participants received an official Bison Baseball Alumni cap, a game program, and an autographed baseball signed by Coach Lansberry. Warm ups and batting practice were held from 11:00 until 12:00, when a total group photo session was held. Teams honored were the 1981 squad (40 years) and the 1991 squad (30 years). Photographers were Logan Cramer (81), Alise Barr, and Jenny Peacock.

The Annual Homerun Derby began at 12:15. Softballs were flying out of Strunk Field at an alarming rate (metal bats). When the dust settled there was a tie between 2007 grad Adam Jury and 2003 grad Scott Hugney. They were declared Co-Winners. Both graciously donated their winnings back to this year’s selected charity, Clearfield County Cancer Support.

A slow pitch softball game began at 12:30. Team captains were Todd Fedder(91) and Bear Norris (94). The high scoring affair ended with Fedder’s team prevailing 18-6. (surprisingly there were no injuries!) An MVP and Gold Glove winner was selected from each team. MVPs were Bear Norris and Lucas Malloy. Gold Glove winners were Scott (Scooter) Collins (86) and Scott Hugney. Following the game a social hour was held (in the shade).

At approximately 4:30 all participants were treated to a dinner catered by The Country Butcher. Over 50 former Bison players were in attendance from as far back as 1950 (Joe Waroquier) and 1957 (Merrill Dunlap). First time attendees included ‘61 grad Melvin Woodring and David Woodring (65). Former Bison coaches Denny Zelenky, Bear Stewart, Ed Yeager(75), Pat Pallo (86) and long time official statistician Rick Ogden (76) were also in attendance.

The Alumni Game Committee (Jeff Kavelak,’87, Donnie Shimmel ‘84, Brian Barr ‘91, Brandon Billotte ‘98, Chris Peacock ‘91, and Sid Lansberry ‘64) would like to thank sponsors Bender Automotive, Bob Boob’s Garage, and the Clearfield Baseball Assn. Special thanks go to the OTSL(Old Town Softball League), Sean and Amanda Quick for the concession stand, the set up crew(Brian Barr, Donnie Shimmel, Bear Norris, Brandon Billotte), Lee Mcgonigal (sound system), and all those who participated and attended. Jeff Kavelak and Mike Ianaro(77) handled the registration and Donnie Shimmel served as the announcer. Clearfield Baseball Association President Ed Yeager showed up in time for dinner (HaHa).